walnut

one of the significant psychological influences on food selection is experience. everyone has one food that is forever tainted by a single incident of excessive consumption.

my food is walnuts. i am rather annoyed that it couldn’t have been something else, as walnuts offer  “a number of neuroprotective compounds, including vitamin E, folate, melatonin, omega-3 fats, and antioxidants.” these benefits are all particularly important for vegans.

i was twelve and had gone out for lunch with my aunt. i felt ill so decided on a light fruit salad with yogurt, walnuts and honey (pre-vegan obviously). as i consumed those chalky, proteinaceous, butterfly-lungs, i felt the flaky powder stick to my insides, making it more difficult for me to finish my salad.

back home in my bed, i vomited up those bitter butterflies. the thought of them induced further vomiting. more recently, i have reintroduced walnuts into my diet in a calculated and cautious manner.

i wrote this because i had walnuts on my pancakes this morning.

Leave a Reply

